Skip to content

What I’m Reading Now

May 4, 2011

As most of you know, I read a lot of books. I have favorite authors, I read reviews and publicity about new books at the library, and I seek out books that might work for my book discussion groups. Here’s a list of what I’m reading now, and why.

Little Fuzzy, by H. Beam Piper, 1962. I’m reading this science fiction book as an ebook on my home computer. It’s about some intelligent alien beings nicknamed little fuzzies, discovered on a mining colony. I’m reading it because John Scalzi is coming out with a companion book this month, Fuzzy Nation. It think it’s a modern version of Little Fuzzy, rather then a sequel. It wasn’t available for loan from a nearby library, so I’m reading the ebook.

At work, I’m reading A Guide to the Birds of East Africa, by Nicholas Drayson. It’s a novel set in Kenya, which reminds me a bit of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand. I’m reading this for my readers advisory group, along with a couple of other African fiction titles. We pick a different topic to discuss every two months, and we all read different but related titles, then talk about the books we liked and didn’t like, which is fun. I’m also re-reading The Lieutenant, by Kate Grenville. It’s mainly set in 1788 New South Wales, Australia. My evening book group is discussing it this month.

In the car, I’m listening to Lost in Shangri-La: the Epic True Story of a WWII Plane Crash into the Stone Age, by Michael Zuckoff, narrated by the author. Brand-new book, set in New Guinea, that caught my attention.

At home, I’m reading American Terroir: Savoring the Flavors of Our Woods, Waters, and Fields, by Rowan Jacobsen. It kept turning up on lists of recommended non-fiction, so I finally gave it a try. All about why honey, or maple syrup, or salmon from one distinct area can be different from those in other regions, and why some of it is so delicious.  I’m also reading The Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss. This is a 1,000 page fantasy novel, second in a trilogy. The first book, about a traveler, minstrel, magic student and pub owner named Kvothe, was so good that I’ve waited years for this one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

