Skip to content

Holiday Baking

December 29, 2010
tags:

  Recently I baked Pecan Praline Puffs for a party at work. They’re quite easy, and just as popular.  The recipe is from All American Cookies, by Nancy Baggett. I have owned this for several years, and my library has 2 copies. If made with rice flour, they’d be gluten free, too. I used 2 tablespoons of regular all-purpose flour.

For Christmas, my husband Bob asked me to bake Panettone, an Italian Christmas bread. We’ve had boxed versions before, but never homemade. I used a recipe from Italian Baking Secrets, by Father Giuseppe Orsini. It’s not difficult, but takes two days and a trip to a specialty store to buy candied orange peel & citron. Lots of eggs and butter make for a delicious holiday bread. I have to say, though, that Bauli brand Panettone is also excellent, if slightly different. Here’s what my loaf looked like:

                                                                                                                                                                  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

