Skip to content

Queen of the Flowers

August 18, 2010

Normally, I wouldn’t recommend book 14 in a mystery series to a reader who isn’t familiar with the author. But the Phryne Fisher series by Australian writer Kerry Greenwood is no ordinary series. Phryne jumps into life feet first in late 1920s Melbourne, helping the poor, investigating the wicked with the help of her assistant Dot and¬†mates Bert and Cec, enjoying high fashion, Mr. Butler’s excellent cocktails that complement Mrs. Butler’s excellent cooking, and enjoying the company of men, especially Lin Chung. Phryne isn’t very likely to settle down, get married, or have children (unless she’s adopting them), so continuity isn’t that important. A dose of Phryne Fisher mysteries is highly recommended for curing a case of the blahs. Check out the author’s website for more information.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gloria permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:48 pm

    Well, I actually make it onto your blog, AND the author reads you too.
    Way cool.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: